Article 40 Appointment and replacement of referees - Under-19

Regulations of the UEFA European Under-19 Championship

Content Type
Competition Regulations
National teams
English (United Kingdom)
Enforcement Date
19 August 2021

The Referees Committee appoints a referee for each match. Only referees from the official FIFA list of referees are eligible.


For each mini-tournament, UEFA appoints three referees from three different countries plus three assistant referees. In principle, the three assistant referees are proposed by the associations of the three referees (one from each association) in accordance with criteria established by the Referees Committee. The host association appoints one substitute referee (fourth official) plus one assistant referee, in principle for the entire mini-tournament.


The Referees Committee appoints referees and assistant referees for the final tournament.


For the final tournament, UEFA may request the host association to appoint up to two fourth officials.


UEFA arranges for the referee team to arrive at the venue, in principle, the day before the start of the mini-tournament. If a member of the referee team does not arrive at the venue by the evening before the start of the mini-tournament, the UEFA administration and all teams concerned must be informed immediately. The Referees Committee, in cooperation with the UEFA administration, takes the appropriate decisions. If the Referees Committee decides to replace a member of the referee team, such a decision is final, and no protests against the person or nationality of the replacement are allowed.


If a referee or an assistant referee becomes unfit to officiate or is otherwise incapacitated before or during a match, he is replaced by another member of the referee team as follows, in accordance with the IFAB Laws of the Game:

  1. The referee is replaced by the fourth official.

  2. An assistant referee is replaced by the fourth official or by the reserve assistant referee if one has been appointed.

If necessary, the match will take place without a fourth official.