Article 17 Match system – final tournament - Under-21

Regulations of the UEFA European Under-21 Championship

Content Type
Competition Regulations
National teams
English (United Kingdom)
Enforcement Date
16 December 2021

Each team plays each of the other teams in the group once, with three points awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a defeat.


The final tournament group stage is played according to the schedule below. The last two matches in each group must both kick off at the same time. The first-named team is considered as the home team.

Matchday 1

Matchday 2

Matchday 3

Group A

A1 v A2

A1 v A3

A4 v A1

A3 v A4

A2 v A4

A2 v A3

Group B

B1 v B2

B1 v B3

B4 v B1

B3 v B4

B2 v B4

B2 v B3

Group C

C1 v C2

C1 v C3

C4 v C1

C3 v C4

C2 v C4

C2 v C3

Group D

D1 v D2

D1 v D3

D4 v D1

D3 v D4

D2 v D4

D2 v D3


The group winners and runners-up play the quarter-finals in single leg knockout matches, as follows:

Quarter-final 1

Winner group A v Runner-up group C

Quarter-final 2

Winner group C v Runner-up group A

Quarter-final 3

Winner group B v Runner-up group D

Quarter-final 4

Winner group D v Runner-up group B


The four winners of the quarter-finals play the semi-finals in single leg knockout matches, as follows:

Semi-final 1

Winner quarter-final 1 v Winner quarter-final 2

Semi-final 2

Winner quarter-final 3 v Winner quarter-final 4


The two winners of the semi-finals play the final in a single match, as follows:


Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2