Article 18 Equality of points – final tournament group stage - Women's EURO

Regulations of the UEFA European Women's Championship

Content Type
Competition Regulations
National teams
Enforcement Date
7 April 2022

If two or more teams in the same group are equal on points on completion of the final tournament group stage, the following criteria are applied, in the order given, to determine their rankings:

  1. higher number of points obtained in the group matches played among the teams in question;

  2. superior goal difference from the group matches played among the teams in question;

  3. higher number of goals scored in the group matches played among the teams in question;

  4. if, after having applied criteria a) to c), teams still have an equal ranking, criteria a) to c) are reapplied exclusively to the group matches between the remaining teams to determine their final rankings. If this procedure does not lead to a decision, criteria e) to h) apply in the order given to the two or more teams still equal;

  5. superior goal difference in all group matches;

  6. higher number of goals scored in all group matches;

  7. lower disciplinary points total based only on yellow and red cards received in all group matches (red card = 3 points, yellow card = 1 point, expulsion for two yellow cards in one match = 3 points);

  8. higher position in the UEFA women's national team coefficient rankings used for the final draw (see Annex B.1.2 b.).


If two teams which have the same number of points and the same number of goals scored and conceded play their last group match against each other and are still equal at the end of that match, their final rankings are determined by kicks from the penalty mark (see Paragraph 19.04 to Paragraph 19.06), provided that no other teams within the group have the same number of points on completion of all group matches. Should more than two teams have the same number of points, the criteria listed under Paragraph 18.01 apply. This procedure is only necessary if a ranking of the teams is required to determine the teams qualified for the quarter-finals.